Vehicles are available to drivers age 25 and over. We cannot rent to anyone under the age of 25.
Additional Drivers may be listed on your rental agreement at no additional charge. Additional drivers must be present at the time of agreement and meet the same requirements as the primary driver.
Full insurance coverage is required on all our vehicles to cover damages in the event of an accident. Insurance must be verified prior to rental. Some credit card companies provide additional coverage beyond whatever personal automobile insurance may cover, but it is best to verify this with them directly before your rental.
All major credit cards are the preferred method of payment for rental fees. Cash will be accepted if prearranged.
A security deposit of $1000 is required on a major credit card. Cash deposits will be accepted.
Vehicles are available to international visitors with a valid passport and driver license.
All rentals are issued with 100 complimentary mileage allowance per day. All miles driven over the complimentary miles will be subject to an additional charge set forth in the rental contract. Please be sure to request the surcharge for over mileage at the time of rental.
Prohibited Use of Vehicles
Each Renter shall be fully responsible for all loss or damage to the Vehicle, regardless of fault or cause.
Operation of the Vehicle by anyone who is not an authorized driver identified on the Rental Agreement;
Use of the Vehicle for commercial hire;
Providing false or fraudulent information to TSAR;
Use of the Vehicle in a willful, wanton, or reckless manner;
Use of the Vehicle in connection with conduct that can be charged as a felony;
Use of the Vehicle in any speed test, contest or driver training activity;
Use of the Vehicle to push or tow any vehicle or trailer;
Operation of the Vehicle off-road or on any unpaved road;
Operation of the Vehicle by someone under the influence of drugs or alcohol in violation of the vehicle codes and/or laws in the state in which the vehicle is driven;
Operation of the Vehicle outside the metropolitan area, DC, Maryland or Virginia unless consented to in writing by TSAR;
Operation of the Vehicle outside the USA unless consented to in writing by TSAR;
Driving the Vehicle without a valid driver’s license or driving the vehicle with a license which has been suspended/revoked.
Delivery / Pick-up
Top Shelf Auto Rentals offers Delivery and Pick-up services at an additional charge. Arrangements can be made at the time of the reservation.
We do offer a one hour grace period to return your vehicle. If you exceed the 24-hour rental period by more than one hour, a per hour late charge will be applied for each hour the vehicle is late, and depending on the vehicle may result in an additional full day rental charge.
Our vehicles may be operated within the states of Maryland, Virginia, and the District of Columbia. If you wish to leave the DMV area let us know to get written approval